Agaléga Island Council Act

Act 4 of 2004


Agaléga Island Council Act

Act 4 of 2004

  • Commenced on 7 August 2004
  • [This is the version of this document at 30 June 2017.]

1. Short title

This Act may be cited as the Agaléga Island Council Act.

2. Interpretation

In this Act—"Council" means the Agaléga Island Council established under section 3;"Minister" means the Minister to whom responsibility for the island of Agaléga is assigned;"relative", in relation to a person, means—(a)a brother or sister of that person;(b)any lineal ascendant or descendant of that person.

3. Establishment of Council

There is established for the purposes of this Act the Agaléga Island Council.

4. Composition of Council

(1)The Council shall consist of—
(a)a Chairperson, to be appointed by the Prime Minister;
(b)3 residents of Agaléga;
(c)a representative of the Outer Islands Development Corporation;
(d)a representative of the private sector;
(e)a relative of the Agalégans living in Mauritius.
(2)The persons mentioned in subsection (1) (b) to (e) shall be appointed by the Minister.
(3)All the members of the Council shall hold office for a period of one year and shall be eligible for reappointment.

5. Objects of Council

The Council shall—
(a)advise the Minister on matters pertaining to development pro­jects in Agaléga;
(b)assist in the implementation of such projects as the Minister may refer to it;
(c)organise activities that may foster co-operation and social har­mony among the inhabitants of Agaléga;
(d)consider grievances from the inhabitants of Agaléga and assist in taking corrective measures as appropriate.

6. Termination of membership

The Prime Minister or the Minister, as the case may be, shall remove from office any member who—
(a)has unreasonably absented himself from a meeting of the Council;
(b)has become insolvent, has assigned his estate for the benefit of his creditors or has made an arrangement with his creditors;
(c)has been guilty of any misconduct or default in the discharge of his duties as a member which renders him unfit to be a member;
(d)has been convicted of an offence of such nature as renders it desirable that he should be removed from office; or
(e)is suffering from such mental or physical infirmity as renders him unfit to discharge his duties as a member.

7. Secretary of Council

(1)There shall be a Secretary to the Council who shall be a public officer to be designated by the Minister.
(2)The Secretary shall keep all the records of the proceedings of the Council in safe custody.

8. Meetings of Council

(1)The Chairperson shall preside at all meetings of the Council.
(2)Where the Chairperson is absent for any reason from any meeting of the Council, the members present shall elect from among themselves a member to preside at the meeting and the member so elected shall, in relation to that meeting, exercise the functions and have all the powers of the Chairperson.
(3)The Council shall meet at least once a month at such time and place as the Chairperson may direct.
(4)Every meeting shall be convened by the Secretary by giving 15 days' notice.
(5)Four members shall constitute a quorum.

9. Protection from liability

No member of the Council shall be liable to civil or criminal proceedings in respect of anything said or done in good faith in the course of the delibera­tions of the Council.

10. Remuneration

The members of the Council and the Secretary shall be paid such allow­ances as the Minister may determine.

11. ***

▲ To the top

History of this document

30 June 2017 this version
07 August 2004